Women Heroes of World War II: 26 Stories

For those who think women like myself, my Grandmother, and many others should just stay in the kitchen and stay soft and weak...

For those who think women like myself, my Grandmother, and many others should just stay in the kitchen and stay soft and weak…

Kathryn J. Atwood has written a wonderful book for the Young Adult market recently published. Called Women Heroes of World War II: 26 Stories of Espionage, Sabotage, Resistance, and Rescue, Kathy describes here how she researched the book:

A few months into researching my book, I received a book in the mail from a man who personally knew Hannie Schaft, the young, beautiful, gun-toting Dutch woman who the Gestapo – desperately searching for her — called “The Girl with the Red Hair,” and who Queen Wilhelmina designated, “The Symbol of the Resistance.”  And I feel like I’ve touched a piece of history.  Again.

In November, 2008 I started writing a book for the Chicago Review Press about female WWII resisters.   CRP gave me only 12-14 months to research and write 26 2,000-word profiles, plus an introduction on each country represented.

http://www.historyinanhour.com/2011/06/16/women-heroes-of-world-war-two/

Leave a Reply

